Eggs in Spicy Tomato Sauce

Eggs in Spicy Tomato Sauce

STORY: I have a 12 hour day during the week between leaving my house in the morning and coming back home from work in the newsroom. On some long days the last thing I want to do is cook a complicated meal, especially when I feel deliriously tired. I also don’t want to order out when I know I can cook up something fast with ingredients I have in my kitchen. This is a great, quick and easy recipe that anyone can master. ¬†Also, feel free to dip in a baguette or add some potatoes or pancetta. Hope you enjoy it!

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup tomato sauce (store bought or homemade)
  • 3-4 ¬†basil leaves
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 cup of good Parmesan cheese
  • Olive oil, salt, pepper
  • 1/4 tspGarlic powder

DIRECTIONS

Heat up a small frying pan and add the olive oil. Once the oil is shimmering, add the tomato sauce and stir. Add pepper flakes and garlic powder. Stir it up! Crack two eggs into the sauce. Let them chill. Put a cover on the pan and simmer for two to three minutes… four or five if you like your eggs well done.

Transfer eggs to a plate or bowl. Grate on some fresh cheese. Tear up fresh basil and sprinkle on top.Add salt and pepper and the basil… dig in!

Leave a Reply

